15 Bands Get Down with PRS Acoustics at SXSW 2011

Sessions from the Wine Cellar on NewNormalMusic.com

March 25, 2011

What do you get when you invite 15 great bands showcasing at SXSW to record acoustic numbers in a wine cellar decked with recording equipment, a former XM radio DJ, and two PRS acoustic guitars? You get internet radio’s newbie, New Normal Music, and their upcoming series “The ABC’s of SXSW on NNM.” Airing March 28 through April 1 on www.newnormalmusic.com, this uniquely indie acoustic program will feature wine-cellar recordings of fresh-faced artists performing exclusively with Paul Reed Smith acoustic guitars direct from SXSW 2011. “The ABC’s of SXSW on NNM” will play back these acoustic sessions in alphabetical order and will be hosted by NNM DJ’s Art and Tobi.

Bands like Dale Ernhardt Jr. Jr., the Moondoggies, Alcoholic Faith Mission, Apex Manor, and Small Sins were all part of this VIP project showcasing PRS acoustic guitars. PRS provided a 25th Anniversary PRS Acoustic (with a retail value of $20,000) and one not yet named prototype PRS Acoustic for the performances. The guitars were well received, with all the bands opting to use PRS even though some had lugged their own equipment to the venue. And when Iceland’s FM Belfast showed up for what was supposed to be just an interview, all bets were off when they strummed their very first PRS acoustic guitar. FM Belfast dug the sound of the instrument so much that they sorted out an acoustic version of their electronic song “Underwear” right on the spot, which turned out to be the band’s first ever acoustic recording. Canada’s Small Sins even captured a bit of video from their PRS acoustic session. You can check out the clip here: link

Be sure to listen to the “The ABC’s of SXSW on NNM” March 28 through April 1 at www.newnormalmusic.com

Daily Lineup

MON, 3/28 Acrylics, Alcoholic Faith Mission, Apex Manor

TUE, 3/29 Cary Brothers, Chris Bathgate, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

WED, 3/30 FM Belfast, Jeremy Messersmith, Small Sins

THU, 3/31 Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin, Tahiti 80, Taylor Locke and the Roughs

FRI, 4/1 The Lonely Forest, The Moondoggies, Young Man

SAT, 4/2 & SUN, 4/3 Entire week of specials will air consecutively in alphabetical order.


Daily Airtimes

6 am PST / 9 am EST

10 am PST / 1 pm EST

2 pm PST / 5 pm EST

7 pm PST / 10 EST